Home » Uncategorized » Work / Life Balance

Work / Life Balance

Seriously, how great is Sweden? This country consistently ranks in the top 10 in the world in health, quality of life and GDP per capita measures.  They have low levels of income inequality, provide universal healthcare and free post-secondary education. Not to mention,  everyone is beautiful and their pop music is pretty amazing.  As if this weren’t enough, they’ve proven that they are, once again, eons ahead of the rest of the world by making a shift towards a shorter workday.

It was with this in mind that I recently accepted a role that allows me to work about 32 hours per week. Being paid hourly and taking a cut in my hours means that I’ll gross roughly $20k less per year. However, my income tax bill will end up being about $8k less. And my closer, 32 hour/week job will cut my commute to just 15 minutes, saving about $2k in annual mileage costs. So overall, I’m giving up $10k/year in exchange for 8 fewer working hours and 5 fewer commuting hours per week. I should have done this ages ago.

My new hours / role start in February. I feel less stressed already and just need to figure out what I’m going to do with all of this free time.

Leave a Reply

