Finding Purpose

It’s been just over 2 years since I stopped working and I’m amazed at how different my days look.  Instead of spending long days being micromanaged by a boss, I determine the pace and structure of my life.  I get up when I want and spend my days as I choose. I can spend entire lazy afternoons listening to an engrossing audiobook or taking up a DIY project.  I’ve tried my hand at gardening, meditating, renovations, crafting, volunteering.  I’ve seen my mom through her illness and endured a global pandemic.  I’ve fallen in love with life all over again.  Instead of trying to get through another day just to eke out a living, I wake up each morning with a zest for life. The best part?  Regaining my sense of autonomy.

After the crash in March, I didn’t panic sell.  I continued investing as I’d always done and just ignored the noise.  My investments recently turned positive for the year and are on the cusp of $1.1 million.  This means that I now have some $350k more than when I was turfed by my ex-employer two years ago.  Everyone says the first million is the hardest, so I just need to keep on keeping on.  I can’t predict what markets will do in the near future, but I’ll be happy I held the course in a decades time.

I’ve also been fortunate that my tenants have continued paying throughout the lockdown.  I purchased a new potential rental condo this past year and am still on the hunt for a vacation home.  I refuse to get caught up in the current hysteria and overpay for a dumpy place in the boonies.  Regardless, I can foresee some upcoming opportunities once mortgage deferrals and government subsidies end and reality dawns on people.

Leave a comment